Connection


I am in the process of working on writing a blog post to catch everyone up to speed.  But honestly, the last week has been a whirlwind of creative connection, human connection, technology connection, and soul connection — and oh, how can I forget — writing connection.

I want to put some links here that will give you an idea of how connected we all are and also what I have been up to creatively.

1.  Talenthouse:  My photo, Brain Tumors, which is a photo of my mother in the hospital the day after she almost died.  The photo was taken last year in May.   The photo received over 1000 votes and they are still coming in.)  The support all over the world has been incredible.  Just click on the link, Brain Tumors and take a look around to see what’s going on over at Talenthouse.  I have met so many amazing artists through this website.  I really appreciate what Talenthouse is doing for artists and creatives.  What I really like about their website title is it reads: “Talenthouse – ALL CREATIVE.”  The winner will be announced March 15.  You better believe I will let you know!

No doubt about it - I am a right brained brainiac.

In a nutshell — I entered the photo, Brain Tumors in a creative invite at Talenthouse to work with Tiffany Shlain, who was honored by Newsweek as one of the “Women Shaping the 21st Century.”  “Tiffany Shlain is a filmmaker, founder of The Webby Awards, and co-founder of The International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences. A celebrated thinker and catalyst, Tiffany is known for her ability to illuminate complex ideas in culture, science, technology and life through her unique films and her dynamic talks and projects.”  Tiffany also recently did this film, Connected. She is beyond raderific!  She is also a mom.

2.  Attachment Parenting International:  I am a regular contributor to their online blog, API Speaks and magazine, The Attached Family.  API is a great international organization and I practice attachment parenting with my son, Benjamin.  My essay, Magic Mama, which honors and celebrates my mother’s legacy and giant spirit, is posted there right now.  This essay has been getting retweeted and has had an incredible amount of readers.  It actually got retweeted by Tiffany Shlain after I tweeted it to her and other organizations having to do with brain tumor support and information.  I am honored to share my mother with the world.  The essay was also linked to via this post, Motherhood is hard, with a pingback to my essay, Magic Mama, when Lara, the mom blogger said, “How on earth did our own moms make it all look so easy?”

Attachment Parenting is an international website, with over 20,000 fans on facebook.  That means 20,000 people, all over the world, potentially read this essay, which celebrates the beauty and dynamic of the mother-daughter relationship.  I also made arrangements with the director of the nursing home where my mother is at, to have someone read her Magic Mama.  This makes me happy.  I wrote this essay for my mom, so it is fitting she hear it.

3.  Mamalode: My essay, Take a Number, I Just Got to Town was published on Mamalode’s website last week.  This is also a magazine and website I am a regular contributor for.  I can’t tell you how much I adore this magazine.  It is a collection and community of honest, down-to-earth mamas, telling you how it really is, how they wish it were, and how sometimes it isn’t anything they even understand.  This magazine has subscribers in every state in the US and a presence internationally.   Check out their Spring issue, themed Flow, coming out this week.  You can subscribe via the link above.  This issue will feature an article by Kelle Hapton about writing her new book, Bloom: Finding Beauty in the Unexpected, which goes on sale April 3rd.  You can pre-order a book at her website.

So, how we are all so connected — by technology, by the human condition, by our hearts.  I have connected with an artist in the US and one in the Ukraine because we both lost our fathers; these connections were made on Talenthouse.  I will be writing about these connections later on this website (here at memomuse.wordpress.com). Right now, I am just trying to get out the basics so you all can be caught up to speed.  Anyway, there just feels like there is so much to tell you.  Like how someone I went to junior high with in Chicago, posted the Brain Tumors  link in his 20th high school reunion facebook feed.   Or how Tiffany Shlain retweeted my essay on Mamalode because I had tweeted it to her, as well as, to the American Brain Tumor Association.

How are you connected? How does it bring you joy?

Thank you for following my blog and reading this post.  Hope. Wish. Dream. Be.

Extra information and memomuse news:

Photo by Megan Oteri (c) ~ All Rights Reserved

Follow me on Twitter: @memomuse1

Follow me on Facebook: memomuse to get your daily dose or doses of memomuse.  I post earthy, thinky, mama, eco, crafty, gardening, creative, inspirational, photos, and links of  lots of positive doses of muse — what inspires me and what I create when I am inspired.

4. Wheat Thins Review: “What do The Colbert Report, Family Guy, a disbelieving twitterer, a hiker stuck under a rock, and Wheat Thins all have in common? They all are part of the new advertising launch of the new Wheat Thins made with 100% whole grain.”  I was asked by Grovery.com to write a review for Wheat Thins.  This is a great website with articles, reviews, information, coupons, and news of the grocery industry.  We all need to eat, so we all need to go to the grocery store.  Here is the link to the review.  It was fun to write and it is funny.  I promise you will laugh.  Really, I do.

Have a museful day!

5 thoughts on “Connection

    • Thank you Savira. Adventure these days is chasing after my toddler and having enough energy at the end of the day to post a blog or write a bit. I take the chunks of inspiration when I can and I run with it. But I always feel rushed. I refuse to get a smart phone, as I feel distracted enough with the internet. I have been writing in a notebook to do my crafting. IT helps. Hope you are well.

      Like

Let me know you were here - share your muse