Meg Goes to Downton Abbey


SONY DSC

We went to Highclere Castle today with the class. The fellowship paid for our admission price as well as coach to and from the University of Surrey.  Pictures can’t quite capture the beauty and detail of this castle.  I am smitten with Britain!

Group photo of our fellowship class. We are teachers from North Carolina studying abroad,. Our class title is "Writing and Technology Integration." We are actually working really hard on some cutting edge technology and current pedagogy on how to engage students of all levels of writing.  Fascinating class.

Group photo of our fellowship class. We are teachers from North Carolina studying abroad,. Our class title is “Writing and Technology Integration.” We are actually working really hard on some cutting edge technology and current pedagogy on how to engage students of all levels of writing. Fascinating class.

So here are some photos. I will be blogging in more detail about this trip later. For now, I am soaking up each moment.

Standing next to a lovely tree on the Highclere Castle Estate (Downton Abbey)

Standing next to a lovely tree on the Highclere Castle Estate (Downton Abbey)

 

This is the countryside to the castle

This is the countryside to the castle

That's me standing in front of Highclere Castle. But let's be honest, we know it as Downton Abbey.

That’s me standing in front of Highclere Castle. But let’s be honest, we know it as Downton Abbey.SONY DSCIn front of the castle

SONY DSC

I met this lovely couple on the tour in the castle and we hit it off. We serendipitously ran into each other in the garden. Their names are Evelyn and Peter.

View from the bottom path of the wild flower field.

View from the bottom path of the wild flower field.

My castle

My castle

 

Sheep grazing on fields surrounding Downton...I mean Highclere.

Sheep grazing on fields surrounding Downton…I mean Highclere.

 

SONY DSC

In the gardens at Highclere. I asked Peter and Evelyn who the statue was and Peter replied, “King Kinut.”  And I said, “Who is that?” He said,, “The chap that held the sea back.”  I laughed and said, “I’ll never hear that description of in America.”  But another teacher in the group said it was actually a statue of something else. For the record, I believe my Brits!  What I really loved about going around the castle tour (inside) with Peter and Evelyn was how they annedocted their own culture’s history. I watched as they stood facing two uncaptioned photos in the great hall upstairs at Downton (I mean Highclere) and bantered back and forth about the Countess who owned the property, hypothesizing that the photo was in fact of Diana. Or they mentioned how they saw Charles’ nose in the photo of the young girl.  It was lost on me, but I gather they thought that it was a picture of the Countess. I really liked watching the Brits walk around inside the castle.  Sure, there were plenty of Americans on the tour but there were so many people from England.  I wish I had more time to talk to more people.  But I have very good luck meeting the people I am supposed to meet and I was supposed to meet Evelyn and Peter.

 

Let me know you were here - share your muse

