Packing


Packing really sucks.
I’m sure it’s a picnic
for the poised
but I’m not

I’m one of the unorganized
not one of the spice cabinet alphabetizers

I hate packing.
Mostly because I have to make a million micro decisions.

Should I pack two tubes of travel size toothpaste or just the medium size tube? Pack the medium tube and just one travel size.

It’s discipline mode.
I had to try on every outfit
I wanted to bring
just to make sure it was comfortable.
If not, it didn’t make the cut.
Off the team like a fat kid cut from the select soccer team

Ligistics. If it doesn’t make sense, don’t pack it.
But that dress would look smashing at a night club in Soho.
You’re not going to Soho or a London nightclub.
But there’s always a possibility.
Shut up.
Be Sensible.

I was overthinking it when I wanted to go get new clothes because the clothes I picked to bring are not all that comfortable. Come to think of it, none of my clothes are super perfect comfortable.
That is my mistake: thinking that a new wardrobe would be more comfortable.
Then again, nothing is perfect.

I got the job done.
I’m tired.
Time to sleep next to my husband for the third to last time for two weeks.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by memomuse. Bookmark the permalink.

About memomuse

I am an arts educator, writer, poet, photographer, and mama. United Arts Council Artist in the Schools and Writer-in-Residence -- I am available to conduct workshops and residencies: Memoir, Writing, Poetry, Spoken Word, Poetry Slams. Contact me for more information. Also available for freelance writing and photography. I am also working on a historic food memoir: http://evanstoncommmunitykitchen.wordpress.com

3 thoughts on “Packing

Let me know you were here - share your muse

