Minimalism


Minimalism is a great catalyst for clarity.

Packing light for trip to UK. If you want to know more about why I am going to England, you can read more about that here: My Go Fund Me campaign. I was selected as a Borchardt Fellow and will be joining other teachers from the Research Triangle in a sunmer study abroad course, Writing and Technology Integration at the University of Surrey.

image

This is in the couryyard at my school where I teach 6th grade Special Education.

image

I am packing this photo of my travel savvy grandma via my xell phone wallpaper– reminding me to embrace change as well as being outside my comfort zone. Juney (my grandma) went to Europe twice by herself in the 1920’s.  She also went to Cuba in the 30’s in her 30’s. She was born in 1898. You can learn more about Juney and her work as a gourmet cheg and business women at the Community Kitchen blog (http://evanstoncommunitykitchen.wordpress.com).

Everytime I use my phone,  I feel Juney’s love and confidence.  I oscillate between utter giddiness,  fear, insecurity, and excitement marinaded in curiosity about my upcoming trip to England. I have never been to the UK.

Well, I intended to only post that simplicity statement. I will be blogging and social media-ing (it is a verb to me), so kindly follow me on Twitter @memomuse1 or on Instagram  @memomuse if you fancy. This journey is going to be epic!

image

Hope. Wish.  Dream. Be.

P.S. – Happy 4th of July!

This entry was posted in American Spirit and tagged , , , , , by memomuse. Bookmark the permalink.

About memomuse

I am an arts educator, writer, poet, photographer, and mama. United Arts Council Artist in the Schools and Writer-in-Residence -- I am available to conduct workshops and residencies: Memoir, Writing, Poetry, Spoken Word, Poetry Slams. Contact me for more information. Also available for freelance writing and photography. I am also working on a historic food memoir: http://evanstoncommmunitykitchen.wordpress.com

Let me know you were here - share your muse

