Mother Knows Best


image

Letter my mom write me in college

“Excuse writing, but is 4:30 and coffee not done.

Don’t be too broken hearted about lost love – there is someone waiting in wings for doll like you.

Stay the way you are – don’t change a hair.

Try to get heart in soccer…”

My mom wrote me this letter in college. I was sad over a lost love. She wrote, “Don’t be too broken hearted  over lost love. There is someone waiting in wings for doll like you. Stay the way you are – don’t change a hair…”

Mother knows best. My husband was waiting for me. And his love gave me wings to fly.

image

Airplane at Smithsonian Air and Space Museum

I will let my mom go tomorrow and bring her to Arlington National Cemetery to be inurned with my father.

image

Statue at entrance to Arlington National Cemetery

It is time.

Here are some photos from our trip to DC.

image

My husband and son at the Air and Space Museum. My handsome astronauts.

image

My son, Benjamin, at the Lincoln Memorial

image

My son and I wearing our red, white, and blue (red hair, blue hat, white shirt)

image

My husband, son, and I at the Lincoln Memorial

image

My family at the Lincoln Memorial

image

American flag that flew on the Wright Brothers airplane

image

Abe Lincoln statue at the Lincoln Memorial.

image

My son and I with my mother’s urn box. My son kept saying it is a treasure box. He was perplexed why it would not open.

If you are interested in back story go to post titled “Be Bold. Be Brave. Be Beautiful” a couple posts back. Lots of links and lots of explaining.

image

My mother’s ashes and me in the lobby at our hotel

image

Sunset near the entrance way to Arlington National Cemetery

“As mothers and daughters, we are connected with one another. My mother is the bones of my spine, keeping me straight and true. She is my blood, making sure it runs rich and strong. She is the beating of my heart. I cannot now imagine a life without her.”
―     Kristin Hannah, Summer Island

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , by memomuse. Bookmark the permalink.

About memomuse

I am an arts educator, writer, poet, photographer, and mama. United Arts Council Artist in the Schools and Writer-in-Residence -- I am available to conduct workshops and residencies: Memoir, Writing, Poetry, Spoken Word, Poetry Slams. Contact me for more information. Also available for freelance writing and photography. I am also working on a historic food memoir: http://evanstoncommmunitykitchen.wordpress.com

Let me know you were here - share your muse

