Porch Front Property


I don’t want to move; it is just so beautiful here. I’m sitting on my porch relaxed, enjoying a cool summer breeze. I should get up. To write. To clean. To mow the lawn. To play with my son. To enjoy the company of my husband. But all I can do is sit on my porch waving my knees back and forth like an American flag prepared for parade.
image

I’m exhausted from gardening. I planted peppers: orange, red, and yellow in neat rows 12 inches apart. I scooped up earthly dirt fresh and wet from the deep rains of tropical storm Andrea.  Dirt is stuck underneath my fingernails and birds chirp keeping me company on my porch front property. Some days, lazy is the new black. The new green. The color of truth.
image

Honestly, I am sad too because I am preparing for my mother’s funeral six months after her death.

Her funeral was finally scheduled at Arlington Cemetary. My father is there, his ashes waiting for her. I have to bring her ashes to D.C. It will also be the first time I have seen my father’s ashes as they are on a shelf or something at Arlington.
image
My mother was cremated shortly after her death on Christmas Eve. But I am not completely sad. In a way I am at peace and ready to say goodbye. She taught me about the beauty of nature and gardening. She taught me to listen to myself and be selfish when necessary.
image
My son and husband working together, fixing the hose. They are inseparable these days.

Sometimes a mom and wife needs her own space and time to be alone. So I rest with my feet up on a wicker glass-top table filled with clay pots with ripe green geraniums about to bloom.
image
Not beach front but porch front which is good enough for me.
image
Newly planted petunias and blue and white pots.
image
Porch front
image
There is something very charming about geraniums in clay pots sitting idle on a summer day with a cool breeze.
image
I’m going to try to keep these ferns fresh. This is the window to the room where I write.
image
Aren’t ferns pretty?
image

I liked this view from Lowes. We bought pepper plants and ferns on sale yesterday.
image
This blue flower seemed to be dying but I thought it wad quite stunning in its final song.
image
First gladiola to bloom from bulb this summer in my garden. Red is such a powerful color in nature.
image
Photo from back steps.
image
I can hear my son and husband play inside the living room. Everything is at it should be. I’ll continue to sit and enjoy the view and noise of my two loves playing, overlapped by birds chirping and flowers singing.
image
Porch. You can see how easy it is to be lazy with a porch like this.
image

Have a great day. I hope you are being as lazy as me or doing what makes you happy.

One thought on “Porch Front Property

  1. What a decadent day you are enjoying! I miss that fabulous porch if yours, swinging back n forth as we would chat about teaching, relationships, life in general. Hello to the loves of your life from Sus. Cheers!

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

Let me know you were here - share your muse

