Country Music and Me


Happy 80th Birthday Willie Nelson!
You are a beautiful cowboy.
This is an a great piece in Texas Monthly about Willie’s guitar, Trigger: http://www.texasmonthly.com/story/trigger

This blog post above, “Country Music and Me”  (which you will have to click on link for) is about why I love country music so much. It’s in my bones. My Wyoming bones! Will never leave, settled in good, settled in strong. I love it. I am a country girl. You can take the girl out of Wyoming, but you can never take the Wyoming out of the girl.

This is also a link to my favorite Willie Nelson song, which was also one of my mom’s favorite songs: “You Were Always on My Mind

Willie Nelson in concert. I won tickets to see him in concert from a local country radio station.

Willie Nelson in concert. I won tickets to see him in concert from a local country radio station.

“Be here. Be present. Wherever you are, be there.”
― Willie Nelson

Thanks for shining your light Willie!

Thanks for shining your light Willie!

MemoMuse

There is a sadness to country music I am a sucker for.  Probably because I am a poet.

And country music is like a reata, wraps itself like a cord, and tugs tight on the heart.  Its big ole’ box of magic, capturing the sentimentality of the human condition in a simple stanza.  Country music drips into ya real slow, seeping into tiny pockets ya didn’t even know could quake.  Like little earthquakes, it rumbles, kicks up dust in the heart you didn’t know was unsettled until ya see the storm rising on the open prairie.

The human condition has always amazed me.  Like now, as I write this I wonder what you may be going through.  What dust is kickin’ up in your heart?

I can’t help myself most of the time when I listen to country music; I usually end up crying, quivering like a kid, with honeydew melon size tears…

View original post 416 more words

One thought on “Country Music and Me

Let me know you were here - share your muse

