Call for Papers — SAMLA Creative Nonfiction Panel


SAMLA’s 2013 conference theme, “Cultures, Contexts, Images, and Texts: Making Meaning in Print, Digital, and Networked Worlds,” speaks deeply to the mission of creative nonfiction. The creative nonfiction panel is seeking submissions that are rich in imagery that invite the reader into the home of story through windows opened by the human experience – the windows that allow us to travel through and between genres, print, and various media that “make meaning” in creative nonfiction. Possible submissions could address culture, context, images, texts, and networked worlds.

Please email narratives, lyric essays, travel writing, genre-breaking, hybrid or multi-media papers as a DOC or RTF attachment to meganoteri@gmail.com by June 1, 2013. CNF submissions should be 1500 words maximum using standard MLA format.

The conference is November 8 – 10, 2013 at the Marriott Atlanta Buckhead Hotel in Atlanta, Georgia. For conference details refer to the conference website: http://samla.memberclicks.net/conference

* If you submit, be prepared to attend the conference to present your paper if your submission is selected for the panel.

Megan Oteri
East Carolina University — MA English (Creative Writing)
2013 South Atlantic Modern Language Association Conference
Creative Nonfiction Panel Chair
meganoteri@gmail.com

One thought on “Call for Papers — SAMLA Creative Nonfiction Panel

  1. I am very interested in submitting two chapters from my well-reviewed memoir, Fierce Joy, published by Greenpoint Press in June, 2013, to the SAMLA conference. I have an MA in English and Comparative Literature [1969] from Hunter College/City University of New York, but am not currently teaching on the college level. Rather, I have created and have been running a literacy program in a New York City public school for fifteen years for first- and second-grade students who are have difficulties learning to read. I have published more than twenty books for children, worked as Director of Publications and Media at The Bank Street College of Education [and used their whole language approach to reading in designing the literacy program for P.S. 166], and have written and/or created multi-award winning children and family programming for PBS, Disney, The Learning Channel, and others. My memoir is a medical mystery, a spiritual adventure, and a love story–and I would like to submit two chapters that enable readers to understand what it feels like to be transformed by a rare neurological disease from a spirited young woman who runs down stairs two at a time into a still-attractive woman, just a few years later, who walks only with the aid of two leg braces and metal arm-crutches.

    This is the way the first chapter, The Cocktail Party, begins:

    The Cocktail Party

    I LICK MY LIP GLOSS AT PARTY INVITATIONS THE WAY A CAT GLOATS
    above a bowl of cream. I love the allure of party lights glowing ritzy and golden in the dark, the warm buzz of voices that pull me inside, the plea- sure of wondering, ‘Who’s there? I never tire of meeting new people and hearing their stories; of watching someone assemble in the smoky air be- fore me as they speak, like an image swimming to the surface of a develop- ing Polaroid.
    That’s why I relish the chink of ice, the first rough burn of scotch on my tongue, the frisson when the warm delight of anticipation rubs against the cool stroke of momentary stage fright. And so I take an eager breath, bypass the shallows at the edges of the room, and plunge deep into the center of the crowd.
    But not anymore. Wading into an elegant, softly chatting crowd dressed in basic black and ancestral pearls doesn’t have quite the same cachet when I also don leg braces and metal crutches that fit like ugly bracelets around my forearms. These new facts of my life are becoming as routine to me as brushing my teeth, dabbing Chanel No. 5 in the hol- lows of my throat, and tucking house keys into a glittery evening bag. But they seem to repel strangers as much as saying, “Good evening. I think I have bedbugs.”

    The chapter follows me through a chic cocktail party where no one–no one–speaks to me, then is followed by an analysis
    of why.

    I’m not sure whether this is an appropriate application for the SAMLA convention, but perhaps you can set me straight.

    Believe me, the whole book is not at all like these excerpts–it is, in fact, full of fierce joy. But I think it is interesting to
    analyze this incident, and to examine why people are so uncomfortable with people who are different from others even
    in this rather inconsequential way.

    Would you let me know your thoughts? Should I submit to the SAMLA convention? And would this be an appropriate
    submission?

    Thank you for your consideration,
    ellen schecter
    ellen.schecter@Gmail.com

    Like

Let me know you were here - share your muse

