Boats, Bikes, and Greyhounds


If you are new to my blog, I feature brain tumor survivors on my blog on Thursdays.  You can read more about this feature and archived posts here.
It is my pleasure to introduce you to C Michael Miller.

I hope…

I hope that advances in technology will allow more understanding for the less known medical issues.  My own Acoustic Neuroma (benign brain tumor) diagnosis took over a year to find, due mostly to a lack of awareness of the condition — both in the general population and in the medical community.

I wish…

I wish that everyone with a brain tumor (or any other major medical ailment) had a support network as amazing as mine was.  My wife, family, friends, doctors, therapists, and everyone else I came into contact with during my treatment and recovery were incredibly helpful and supportive.  I wish the same for everyone dealing with a difficult diagnosis.

I dream…

I dream of a time when the medical treatments for all brain tumors are less invasive and more successful.  Period.

I am (be)…

I am stronger because of my brain tumor.  I have gone on to new achievements in life, including long distance bicycling and writing a book.  I look forward to continuing to find new challenges.

Diagnosis and Treatment:

I was diagnosed with a 3.9cm Acoustic Neuroma (benign brain tumor) in 2009.  It was pressing on my cerebellum, brain stem, and facial nerve.  I had a fourteen hour Trans-Labyrinth approach surgery that got most of the tumor, but left a small sliver to preserve my facial nerve.  I also contracted Meningitis during my recovery due to a Cerebrospinal Fluid leak.  The tumor and surgery left me with some partial facial paralysis and deaf in one ear.

C Michael Miller’s MRI

3 things about me:

I went from a hospital bed after surgery to finishing a one-hundred mile bicycle ride a little over a year ago.  Crossing that finishing line (photo) marked the end of my physical recovery.

Crossing the finish line

I was lucky to not have my balance affected dramatically by my surgery, which has allowed me to continue my passion for sailing.

2012 National Ocean One Design regatta in Annapolis. I’m kneeling just over the “Bad” in Bad Cat.

I am passionate about greyhound rescue- my wife and I have been a foster home for our local greyhound rescue group for 10 years. (photo of our Rider)

Rider

I was inspired to write a book, Diagnosis: Brain Tumor – My Acoustic Neuroma Story, about my brain tumor experience. I’m excited to be able to share hope with others.  You can find more info at www.cmichaelmiller.com. (cover photo)

Diagnosis: Brain Tumor – My Acoustic Neuroma Story

If you would like to submit your profile for Brain Tumor Thursday here, please email me directly at memomuse@gmail.com or you can check out the information page and read past archives.  Caregivers and loved ones are welcome to share their profile too, following the same template. #BTSM and #BrainTumorThursday is a wonderful community reaching around the globe with out-stretched arms and love. If you are on Twitter, you can use the hash tags #BTSM and #BrainTumorThursday to reach out to this wonderful community.
You can leave C Michael a comment here or email him directly at author@cmichaelmiller.com. Thank you for your support of Brain Tumor Thursday.
One thought on “Boats, Bikes, and Greyhounds

  1. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all people you
    actually understand what you are speaking about!
    Bookmarked. Please additionally consult with my website =).

    We could have a link alternate arrangement between us

    Like

Let me know you were here - share your muse

