Vanity Muse


“It’s not what you look at that matters, it’s what you see.” ~ Henry David Thoreau

This is my vanity.  It sits in a room that is empty.  This room was the original “courting room.”  Our house was built in 1880 and is a national historic home on the national registry. It has bay windows and a fireplace.  I imagine all the people who fell in love in this room, holding hands on Victorian couches.  I imagine people that were bored by mismatched socks of the heart.  Mostly, I imagine yesterday and the years that followed, taking us here in this present moment.

For now, it is a big sunlit room that I use as a reminder how full a room can be when it is empty.  Eventually, I would like to make this my writing room, but I don’t want to clutter it with books or desks.  It serves me better as an empty room I can retreat to when life’s clutter overwhlems me.  I set up the typewriters to use in a photo shoot for my author bio photo.  I still need to order those photos.  I love the yellow color and the sheer white curtains.  The room sits on the West side and the light is most dramatic in late afternoon.

“Foggy Woods” © Megan Oteri ~ All Rights Reserved

“The theoretician believes in logic and believes that he despises dreams, intuition, and poetry.  He does not recognize that these three fairies have only disguised themselves in order to dazzle him…. He does not know that he owes his greatest discoveries to them.”  ~Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, Wartime Writings 1939-1944, translated from French by Norah Purcell

The photo of the woods is from the Blue Ridge Parkway in North Carolina.  It was taken in the summer of 2007.  I was happy, but I was also sad as I thought I would never have a child of my own.  I had recently been diagnosed with a uterus septum and had surgery to correct it.  Now, I can see this was just one road that led me to my son. I do love this photo artistically

“Eagle Eye” © Megan Oteri ~ All Rights Reserved

“When you are describing,
A shape, or sound, or tint;
Don’t state the matter plainly,
But put it in a hint;
And learn to look at all things,
With a sort of mental squint.” ~ Lewis Carroll

The photo of the eagle is from our 2007 trip to Grandfather Mountain in North Carolina.  This eagle made me very sad.  He seemed sad too, but he was injured and the park was trying to rehabilitate him.

“Blue Ridge Sunset” © Megan Oteri ~ All Rights Reserved

“The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious.  It is the source of all true art and science.  He to whom the emotion is a stranger, who can no longer pause and stand wrapped in awe, is as good as dead; his eyes are closed.”  ~Albert Einstein

Sunset in the mountains of North Carolina.  I am a mountain woman.  I feel so alive when surrounded by the beauty of nature, specifically mountains.  If you add a  mountain stream, lake or river — well, I could gaze all day.

“What do you see?” © Megan Oteri ~ All Rights Reserved

“To think creatively, we must be able to look afresh at what we normally take for granted.”  ~ George Kneller

This photo is actually taken in Tennessee. We rented a boat and went boating on this lake.  I like this photo because of the cloud and angle.  I see a figure in the cloud.  What do you see?

“The Shore” © Megan Oteri
If you would like to share this, feel free. Please keep watermarks on it.

“To unpathed waters, undreamed shores. ”  ~ William Shakespeare

“Wyoming Muse” © Megan Oteri
Feel free to share, but please keep watermarks

Wyoming is my muse.  I carry her everywhere I go.  Forever West.

The two photo above, “The Shore” and “Wyoming Muse”
were taken at Yellowstone National Park and Grand Tetons National Forest.

“Home” © Megan Oteri
Feel free to share, but please keep watermark.

North Carolina is home now.  I am very happy here.  I recognize–most importantly–that home is in the mind–it the chambers and pockets of the heart.  The two are connected by our imagination, emotions, and ability to roam. We are all nomads at heart.

Nomad
n.
1. A member of a group of people who have no fixed home and move according to the seasons from place to place in search of food, water, and grazing land.
2. A person with no fixed residence who roams about; a wanderer.
 “Not all those who wander are lost.”   J. R. R. Tolkien
4 thoughts on “Vanity Muse

  1. Those old typewriters should be great muses! I have an old typewriter, though “new” compared to those, since it is one I typed on myself growing up. But my little boys now think it’s the greatest wonder, and love to peck on it and take it apart.

    Like

    • I love the sound of old typewriters. In fact I wrote a novel (a really bad first draft) on my typewriter. I was not distracted when I wrote it (2005). It’s time to get that bad boy out of hibernation!

      Like

    • I would also love to have a very very Zen room (just a computer — Apply preferably) with a shelf around a tranquil painted room (perhaps white or off-white) with the old typewriters on floating shelves that go around the room. Someday…
      For now, they are packed into corners here and there, blending in with bookshelves and notebooks and toddler toys and children’s debris!

      Like

Let me know you were here - share your muse

