Tammy’s Profile


If you are new to my blog, I feature brain tumor survivors on my blog on Thursdays.  You can read more about this feature and archived posts here.
It is my pleasure to introduce you to Tammy.

I hope…

I hope for a cure.

Brain Cancer Awareness

 I wish…

I wish for a cure for my headaches.

I dream…

I dream I will be here to see my kids grow up.

Tammy’s family

I am….

I am stronger than my cancer.

I was diagnosed January 2011 after I thought I was having mini strokes. It turned out to be GBM grade 4. I had my 1st resection 1/7/2011. My second was 1/17/2012. I also had surgery for radiation necrosis–more cancer cells were found at that time. I did Temodar and 30 something treatments of radiation. After one of my surgeries, I wound up with spinal meningitis and staph and Pseudomonas infections. I was in the hospital for almost the entire spring of 2012. I had gamma knife surgery August 2011 for yet another tumor. In a couple of weeks, I will be given a vaccine my surgeon has been working on. He has had great success in his lab animals, so I am hoping for the same for me.

3 Things about me:

These are photos and images Tammy wanted to share.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Diagnosis and Treatment:

1)    Diagnosed in January of 2011 with GBM grade 4

2)    First surgery on 1/7/2011

3)    Gamma knife surgery August 2011 for recurrence

4)    Second surgery on 1/17/2012

5)    Surgery for radiation necrosis of which more cancer cells were found

6)    Spinal meningitis along with staph and Pseudomonas infections

7)    Did Temodar and 30 treatments of radiation

8)    In hospital for pretty much the entire spring 2012

Please leave Tammy lots of comments as she will be reading the comments. If you want to send her a personal message, email me at memomuse@gmail.com and I will make sure she gets it.

If you would like to submit your profile for Brain Tumor Thursday here, please email me directly at memomuse@gmail.com or you can check out the information page and read past archives.  Caregivers and loved ones are welcome to share their profile too, following the same template. #BTSM and #BrainTumorThursday is a wonderful community reaching around the globe with out stretched arms and love. If you are on Twitter, you can use the hash tags #BTSM and #BrainTumorThursday to reach out to this wonderful community.

7 thoughts on “Tammy’s Profile

  1. Hi Tammy,
    I hope you are feeling better and the headaches are subsiding.

    I had a GBM removed almost entirely (All I could see – Surgeon) on 30/03/2012 42 x Rapidarc radiotherapy and conjunctive CT w Temodar x 42, followed by 2 x 5 temodar.
    I had an MRI last week which showed recurrence and now I’m on PCV, just had 4 x lomustine, I feel strong but i’m concerned that this may not work. The site of the recurrence is allegedly inoperable so I am in a hurry to do more. What is the vaccine you mentioned? Thanks for reading and love and best wishes, Mike

    Like

  2. Hi, Tammy! Thank you for your strength, beauty, and courage! You have been through so very much. I am very curious about the vaccine. My mother was first diagnosed with a met tumor back in ’08. No talk of a vaccine back then and maybe it’s different with mets. Blessings to you and all who love you! Big hugs!!!

    Like

  3. Tammy, thank you for sharing your story. I hope the vaccine will bring with it the positive results we all want for you. Will keep you in my thoughts…

    Like

Let me know you were here - share your muse

