If I Only Had a Brain


If you are new to my blog, I feature brain tumor survivors on my blog on Thursdays.  You can read more about this feature and archived posts here.

It is my pleasure to introduce you to Amanda.

I hope….

That in life, I will touch many people hearts and help to make a difference in someone’s life.

If I Only Had a Brain Foundation is a non-profit Amanda founded

I wish…

That someone will find a cure for cancer and be able to detect it early on in life.

I dream….

To open my own camp for children and families with children suffering from brain tumors and epilepsy.

I am…

A lover. A person who’s life goal is to help people and to make not so good situations better.

I am a 24 year old who needs to make a difference.

Diagnosis and Treatment…

I was diagnosed with a pituitary tumor when I was 20 years old, one that was treated with medications for about 3 – 5 years. My tumor effected everything; my mood, my life, my dreams and ambitions. It consumed me and made me a completely different person. In March of this year, I was no longer responding to medications and sought out a neurologist to find out my next option.

I had two MRIs in 3 weeks in which my tumor trippled in size. I was referred to a neurosurgeon and the following week was in surgery. Luckily for me, I did not have to have a craniotomy. My surgery was done all through my nose (endoscopic skull base surgery) at New York Presbyterian Hospital by Dr. Theodore Schwartz.

I had a few complications –learned that I was severely allergic to the anesthetic, as well as morphine and ended up with a cerebral spinal fluid leak at my surgical site, as well as where they had done an epidural. I was in a coma for almost a full day where I was in the ICU and then moved to the neuro unit. A week after my surgery, I had to go for a blood patch to fix the leaks, which landed me on bed rest for a month and a 1/2.

While on bed rest, I decided to start my own non profit organization called  If I Only Had A Brain Foundation.

If I Only Had a Brain Foundation

My goals with the foundation are to open a summer camp for children with brain tumors and epilepsy that is focused around art, music and sports; all with theraputic techniques involved. I am holding my first silent auction and benefit dinner September 16th at the Olde Mill Inn in Basking Ridge NJ. All are welcomed. Tickets are $85 please email me (IfIOnlyHadABrainFoundation@gmail.com) if you are interested and would like to share your story! All of this years proceeds will be donated to Dr. Schwartz’s Brain Tumor and Epilepsy research and clinical development fund! Help me help others like us!!

3 thoughts on “If I Only Had a Brain

    • Jill,
      She does have a lovely way with words. I enjoyed this profile. I find that so many people affected from brain tumors give back to their community and share more of their heart.
      It is a wonderful community. Thank you for participating and reading the profiles.

      Like

Let me know you were here - share your muse

