The Rose


If you are new to this blog, read this so you know what this project Brain Tumor Thursday is about.  You can also read the page on the top of the blog that is marked ”Brain Tumor Thursday.”   Archive profiles are available there too, as well as, links to information, support, and websites for brain tumor patients and families.

It is my pleasure to introduce you to Tracey.

I hope…

Tracey and her children

I hope to see my children grow to adulthood.

I wish…

Tracey and her family at Dinseyland

I wish for so many things. I wish for a great day tomorrow, for my kids to enjoy school and look back at their childhood fondly, for all the patients I work with to be in a better place with their diagnosis, for a day with no headaches, for a night with no nightmares, to someday get to see Europe, and lastly…for the people who love me…not to be scared of what is to come.

I dream…

I dream of being a grandparent.

I am…

I am loved.

“Heart Bench” Photo by Megan Oteri © All Rights Reserved

3 things about myself and diagnosis and treatment…

In September 2006, at the age of 36, I was married, with an 18 month-old daughter and a 4 year-old son, a full-time job in Advertising and Marketing, I was diagnosed with a malignant Brain Tumor. I had brain surgery on September 6th. The Neurosurgeon was able to remove 75% of my tumor. I woke up paralyzed and looked like Frankenstein.

I went through 3 months of MAJOR UNBELIEVABLE personal and physical hell – very short one line summary: husband of 10 years left and loving father killed in car accident.

I have been through brain radiation and have no growth since…monitor tumor with MRI scans every 90 days. My fiancé and I call it “Date Night” because we usually go on a Friday night and he comes in with me and rubs my feet while I’m in the MRI tube. Not the most romantic date…but we’ve had good results so far…no growth!

When tumor starts to grow I will start a Temodar regimen.

I coexist with my tumor – take large doses of anti-seizure medication which makes me very tired and gives me terrible headaches. But, I’m still very happy to say that I am a 5 ½ year survivor beating the odds one day at a time.

Cancer Print ad TV show (1) (This is a photo of Tracey in a hospital ad)

I’m proud to have started the Connecticut Brain Tumor Alliance and would love to have everyone check us out at www.ctbta.org. They can see and read all about me, my friends and family, see what we’ve accomplished and hopefully come to some of our events!

Favorite Quote…

My favorite quote is from The Rose:

It’s the heart afraid of breaking that never learns to dance
It’s the dream afraid of waking that never takes the chance
It’s the one who won’t be taken who cannot seem to give
And the soul afraid of dying that never learns to live.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

***

If you are a brain tumor patient, survivor, or care giver and would like to share your story, please contact me at memomuse@gmail.com.  If you read this post, you will find the template for the profile feature, as well as, the connection I have to brain tumors.  You can also read the Brain Tumor Thursday tab at the top of my blog, which has the template to submit a profile, as well as, archived profiles.

You can also find me on Twitter, especially on #braintumorthursday.  Leave me a message here in the comments  at my blog.  If you are on Twitter, be sure to put in the hash tag, “#braintumorthursday” to find support, information, and a whole community of amazing people doing their part to raise awareness and offer each other kindness and support.  You can also put in the hash tag “#BTSM” which means “brain tumor social media.”  You don’t have to have a Twitter account to get the information.  Just go to http://www.twitter.com and put in the two hash tags (#braintumorthursday and #btsm) to see the links to many websites.  You can also use a search engine, such as Google, to do this.

Here are several links to organizations, with a lot of other links and information about brain tumors.

Please feel free to add your link in a comment if it has to do with brain tumor support and information.  If you wish to get in  touch with Tracey, you can reach her by leaving a comment on this blog and I will make sure she gets your message.  You can also email me at memomuse@gmail.com and I will forward the message to her.  Tracey will be reading the comments here on this post, so give her some love.  You can also reach her via the Connecticut Brain Tumor Alliance website.

Thank you for tuning in today and supporting #braintumorthursday.  We look forward to seeing you here every Thursday for #Brain Tumor Thursday and on Twitter every Thursday.  Thank you for your time.

Hope. Wish. Dream. Be.

~ memomuse

6 thoughts on “The Rose

  1. Tracey,
    Thank you for sharing your inspirational story! You are amazing.
    If you are new here (a reader) and don’t know what to comment, just send Tracey some love. There is no right thing to say! Just speak your heart’s words.

    Like

    • Thank you for doing this feature on Brain Tumor Thursday. The support is has provided to me is more than I can detail in a comment here. Thank you so much. Reading about others…reinforces to me that I’m not alone here.

      Like

  2. Tracey, your story is amazing–wrenching and yet so hopeful and beautiful. I am insanely happy that you have a found a caring man who will stand by your side through whatever comes your way–which I pray is a long and beautiful life, despite the obvious challenges and worry you live with. Beautiful roses and rainbows to you…always.

    Like

  3. It takes guts, courage, and a lot of faith…so glad you have support member of the #THI #TBI & Meningioma clubs…lolll~xoxo~hugs

    Like

  4. What a journey! There is strength in knowing WE are not alone…and I mean *I* am not alone. I am only 9 months out from my craniotomy. Still a newbie and very fragile on my feet. Thank you for sharing! It really helped me today.

    Like

Let me know you were here - share your muse

