“Living with a Brain Tumor Isn’t Easy”


I host profiles of people living with brain tumors to help support and raise awareness about brain tumors.  It is also for loved ones and care givers.  You can read about my connection to brain tumors here (my mother has had slow growing non-cancerous brain tumors since 2000).  You can also read past Brain Tumor Thursday profiles under the tab at the top of my website, titled “Brain Tumor Thursday,” where you can also view the template for submission.  The template is based on my motto and website tagline: Hope. Wish. Dream. Be.

It is my pleasure to introduce you to Theresa.

I hope…

I hope for some understanding. Living with a brain tumor isn’t easy (Neither is the genetic disease I also have that is associated with it). It has caused problems of its own. I hope people would understand where I am coming from before jumping to any conclusions.

Megan Oteri © All Rights Reserved 
“No law or ordinance is mightier than understanding.”
– Plato

I wish…

I wish that members of the medical field who have never heard of either of my diseases, would at least, be willing to learn about them, instead of brushing them off as if they were nothing, when in fact they are (usually) the root cause of everything wrong.

Megan Oteri © All Rights Reserved memomuse.wordpress.com
Hope. Wish. Dream. Be.

I dream…

I dream (wonder, really) what it’d be like to have a true “rock” around.

I am…

I am me. Theresa. Just because I have two rare genetic diseases, it doesn’t make me some kind of freak or something.

I am…

I am me. Theresa. Just because I have two rare genetic diseases, it doesn’t make me some kind of freak or something.

Diagnosis/treatment:

April 2008- craniotomy. L’hermitte-Duclos Syndrome.   August 2008 – confirmation of Cowden’s Syndrome (CS). I throw these in because they are Cowden Syndrome related: 2009 – thyroidectomy; Hurtle Cell Lesion (it was benign); January 2010 – total hysterectomy; endometrial carcinoma (stage 1).

Photo by Megan Oteri © All Rights Reserved memomuse.wordpress.com

3 Things about me:

1. My favorite movie would have to be Rebel Without A Cause (James Dean). I don’t think I could ever get tired of seeing this.

“I don’t think I could ever get tired of seeing this movie.” – Theresa

2. I like  History (some periods more than others) and Geography, and learning about other countries (some more than others).

“Journal Your Journey.” ~ memomuse

3. Favorite Quotes (these are from a few of the songs I really like. If you can name them… you are good!):
  •  “I am just a soul whose intentions are good. Oh Lord, please don’t let me be misunderstood.” – The Animals
  • ” I don’t ask for much. I only want trust.”  – Ringo Starr
  •  ” Where does the love of God go when the waves turn the minutes to hours?” – Gordon Lightfoot
  •  “He cries,  ‘I am leaving. I am leaving’ But the fighter still remains.”  – Simon and Garfunkel

If you would like to get in touch with Theresa to send her a direct message, you can email me at memomuse@gmail.com and I will forward your message.  You can also leave a comment here, as she will be reading the comments.  Thank you for reading my blog and I hope to see you here again next Thursday.  I also write about other things on my blog, so feel free to come back later and visit.  If you would like more information about informaiton, support, and communities to connect with, go to the Brain Tumor Thursday tab at the top of my website.  Thank you.

“Hope. Wish. Dream. Be. Journal Your Journey.” ~ memomuse

5 thoughts on ““Living with a Brain Tumor Isn’t Easy”

  1. Last night I heard from a friend who is awaiting news regarding ovarian cancer; another friend who told me this morning that his prostate cancer may have spread. Another friend noticed yesterday that his wife’s brain cancer has hit the six month mark. Another friend’s surgery was postponed because she now has a blood infection-yes, she has cancer too. My step-brother has tongue cancer; for the second time, after losing his wife to pancreatic cancer three years ago or so. Both my father and my sister died of cancer. My neighbor on the corner has advanced breast cancer…A student’s uncle has been living with brain cancer for a few years now. This is the first time I’ve thought of all this in one place, in one jumbled up, angry, compassionate, shocked ball of emotions.

    My heart goes out to Theresa…for the physical challenges, the misunderstandings and pushings aside of her valid symptoms and concerns, and mostly because she has no rock…Love to her, and to you, Megan.

    Like

  2. Dear Theresa,
    We want you to know we love you and know you have had a hard time it. You have given us great memories our time in Vermont. You have a wonderful sense of humor and hope you know you inspire us to keep going no matter what.

    Like

Let me know you were here - share your muse

