Monday Museletter April 16


Happy Monday Muse!

I hope you all had a great weekend doing the things you love and spending time with loved ones.

Talenthouse Voting Opens Today

Voting opens at 10 am PST, so that is 1 pm EST.  Here is the link:  photo of Chris LeDoux.  I will be posting a creative nonfiction story Tuesday, about meeting Chris at Cheyenne Frontier Days in 2003.  So tuned, it’s a really cute story.  The title of the story is, “Just Happy to be Here.”

Blogging Award

I have been nominated for the Kreativ Blogger Award by R.T. Dickinson.  I will be posting my nominees and 7 things about me on Wednesday.

Sesame Street

My son has been watching Seseme Street.  He has started counting.  Not like 1, 2, 3, 4, but he holds up both his index fingers to show us he knows what 2 means.  He also lined up his bath toys in the tub and was counting in his toddler language. It was adorable.  He loves Elmo!  And he loves to sing and dance.

New Camera

My husband bought me a new camera for my birthday.  Yippee! It has two lenses. Oh yeah.  I love it.  I still haven’t figured out how to put a watermark on, using my own software.   I don;t really care if the photos I post today get pirated.  I am still getting used to the camera.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Pirated Photos

The Facebook website that had pirated photos uploaded by some if its fans, took down the pirated photos of mine.  They also put up a link to my Talenthouse portfolio, saying this: “Looking for more cowboy photos, check out the awesome shots by Megan Oteri!”  I think I had to have this happen for me to force myself how to figure out watermarking.  I have uploaded watermarked photos (with Artflakes watermark) to my Pinterest page with links to my Artflakes online art gallery.

Gardening

My garden is starting to look amazing.  I love how it feels when a seed sprouts; I feel so empowered.  Gardening also helps me practice patience.  I am not a patient person by nature. I want it NOW. In fact, I want it before now! We are growing spinach, lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, zucchini, corn, beans, blackberries, strawberries, carrots, oregano, basal, cilantro, jalapeno peppers, and peas.  What a beautiful sight to see a garden grow.

Spinach growing in my garden

Brain Tumor Thursday

I feature a brain tumor survivor every Thursday on my blog.  I thought Liz’s story was incredible.  Featuring these people, sure puts things in perspective.  My mother has non-cancerous brain tumors.  You can read more about that here.  You can also find out about how Brain Tumor Thursday got started.  I do tell my readers about Brain Tumor Thursday in the Monday Museletter so they have a head’s up.  I know some people do not want to read about that.  I can respect that.  I think the profiles are inspirational — there are so many people dealing with serious problems.  It humbles me.

Chapter 2 – My Memoir

I hope to get chapter 2 to my memoir revised and edited by the end of this week.  Here is the story of meeting an agent at the South Carolina Writer’s Workshop:

I actually met with a literary agent at the 2011 South Carolina Writer’s Workshop, and after two rejections of my gift book, The Original Journal (see tab above if you are not familiar with that project), I decided the third pitch needed to be something else, or my ego would literally strangle me with its wounded limbs.  So, I pitched my memoir.  The agent put her business card on the table.  I had no idea what that meant, having suffered (cue ego sad music) two rejections from other agents.

She said, “My next appointment has cancelled, so do you have questions about the publishing business and process?”

I searched my mind and had one thing on my mind, “How did my pitch go?”

She smiled, she is from the Mid-West, and so down to earth and said, “I gave you my card.”

I was like, “Yeah, OK, what does that mean?”

She laughed kindly and looked me dead in the eye (this time I wasn’t about to cry like after the rejection from the last two agents), and said, “I want to see the first 30 pages.”

I think I could have hugged her.  I really wanted to.  I was on top of the world.

Have a great week ya’ll and hopefully I will see you here tomorrow for “Just Happy to Be Here,” to sing for my supper — to get your vote for my Chris LeDoux photo.  I really love Chris’ music and country music in general.  I am in the process of putting together a photo story book about the rodeo in Cheyenne.  You can view (Pinterest) or buy (Artflakes gallery) some of those photos here: my Pinterest page and my Artflakes online art gallery.

This is my favorite photo I have ever taken of a horse.

I took this photo, Eyelashes on the Blue Ridge Parkway in the Blue Ridge Mountains in North Carolina.

3 thoughts on “Monday Museletter April 16

  1. Now we share (at least) two things in common: my long-standing affection for Elmo (thought I loved the Count’s way of (duh) counting; and the Kreativ Blogger Award. I can readily see why ‘Eyelashes’ is a favorite horse photo of yours.

    Like

  2. Now we share (at least) two things in common: my long-standing affection for Elmo (thought I loved the Count’s way of (duh) counting; and the Kreativ Blogger Award. I can readily see why ‘Eyelashes’ is a favorite horse photo of yours.

    Like

    • It’s the Number of the Day! Elmo gets on my nerves — sshhh, don’t tell Ben. That voice of his! Yikes, all day long. Just Kidding, well kind of! I love the Count! I also love that Ben loves Elmo. So I guess by default I love Elmo. I love Oscar too.

      Like

Let me know you were here - share your muse

