Monday Museletter April 9


Photo Piracy

I have had many photos stolen off the internet.  Last week I found them on a gay guy’s cute faces website, a Russian mail order bride website, and a Facebook page for women who love cowboys.  I am not going to digress into details, as I worked through it, and learned how to use water marked photos I have in an online art gallery called http://www.artflakes.com/en/shop/megan-oteri.    I got so bent out of shape and this quote was my tipping point when I saw it:

“For every minute you are angry you lose sixty seconds of happiness.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Also, I thought of Samantha Jones from Sex and the City, when she said to Smith Jarrod, “First the gays, then the girls, then the industry!” when he was upset about his photo (Absolute Hunk) being on a New York City bus. You’d have to be a Sex and the City fan to get it.  Industry — I’m ready!

 I got over my anger and frustration that I had put up my best photos and did not watermark them (after many fights with myself).  I still am learning how to watermark. It is not an easy thing.  But I did figure out how to upload watermarked images from Artflakes.  Sometimes, you need to use the tools right in front of you.  And sometimes, you just got to GET OVER IT!

Pinterest

My Pinterest website is: http://pinterest.com/memomuse/ if you want to follow me.  So far, I have made two boards: cowboys and horses.  I really haven’t completed them, but I just figured out where my accepted invitation was in my email and joined Saturday.  Read this post, Pirates Have Stolen My Cowboys, if you want to hear me in the midst of a pity party, with valid reasons to be mad. But let’s not BS one another — I was having a pity party.

"Red" ~ Photo by Megan Oteri © All Rights Reserved

This is a watermarked photo. I feel an enormous amount of pride that I executed this watermark. And that I was able to upload it to Pinterest and hot link it back to Artflakes where the photo is for sale. Yippie.  Go ahead and click on the photo, it will take you directly to Artflakes where you can purchase professional quality prints, posters, framed photos, canvas prints, and note cards.  This is an example of the left brain giving the right brain a high five!

Send me a note in a comment and then I can follow you.  Pinterest is going to be trouble!  I already spend too much time on social media.  Oh my though, it will be so much fun and PInterest is so much a girl thang.  I know there are are men on Pinterest and all.  It appeals so much to my love of photography and visual art.  It also makes me feel better that not everyone has their photos watermarked.  Photographers are artists!  There are so many talented photographers out there.  Pinterest is social media mediums that is changing visual media, and I think it is an incredible program.  I don’t like that you can right click and copy images though, that does not serve photographers well who don’t watermark.  It also makes me think that most people are not going to spend money to buy photographs when they can use images for free.  But hey – the times are a-changin’.

Easter

We had a wonderful holiday.  I am so lucky to have such a supportive husband and beautiful son. I feel so lucky.  My husband helps me get out of the negative caverns I inhabit somedays.  He is my magic.  My mother-in-law made a wonderful Easter dinner, with all the trimmings.  She even made these beautiful Easter bunny cookies and hand painted them.  We also hunted for Easter eggs in the house Sunday morning. It was so much fun to watch my almost two-year-old hunt for them like a detective.

My mother-in-law is so talented. She does the special things that make holidays at her home incredible. I am so lucky my in-laws live near us.

Whole Brain

I consider myself right brained. And I talk a big game about not being left brain at all.  My good friend, and publisher of Mamalode magazine told me something I needed to hear.  I was crying on her virtual shoulder in an email about how frsitrated I was about having my photos pirated off the internet.  I was having a pity party.  She is not the type to let anything stand in the way of her goals, and she is brilliant, on both sides of the brain.  She said this:

I think you need to come to terms with the idea of a whole brain. I hear you talk about left vs right a lot. If you want to be a professional writer you need both. The idea of opposing them against each other will not serve you. The business, legality, protocols and all are just as important as the creative. One is really only a hobby without the other.
 
Keep on trucking. You have the gifts needed.  – Elke

This illustration/design was used for Mercedes Benz. I really like it. They have a lot more with different illustrations and examples of right and left brain. Follow the hot link.

The thing is, I needed to hear that.  I knew she would not let me get away with just being a victim of the rickety left brain bridge I dare not cross. The bridge that I  grasp and clutch, white-knuckling onto who ever is near me on the right brain bridge. On the right brained bridge, I do somersaults across and dance and jump without fear. Bottom line — creating and artistic things come natural to me.  Organization and logical sequential is difficult, almost makes me feel like I have a learning disability.  I actually had a severe speech disability and did not speak until I was four.  I had to attend a special pre-school for disabled children.  I also had speech until the end of third grade or fourth grade.

My mom always would tell this story:  When you were in Mrs. Maron’s class, you were sitting in sharing circle and your class was discussing love.  You raised your hand and said, “I know my mommy loves my daddy and my daddy loves my mommy,” and you looked at the boy sitting next to you and said, “And you’re not so bad yourself.”

I guess I was always a ham, with a very intense speech impediment.  I remember vividly trying to say my R’s.  I still struggle with rural.  Please don’t ask me to say it.  I prefer to live rural!  I had an awesome speech teacher too.  I remember the closet I had to go to (literally) to go to speech lessons at school.  Ironic I became a Special Education teacher!  That is what I have my BA in (Elementary and Special Education).

My Mom, Wyoming, and My High School Reunion

My mom is slowly drifting away.  Her voice is very quiet and it is hard to hear her on the phone.  She is losing mobility in her hands.  She is pretty much bed ridden at the nursing home. I need to go visit her soon.   I keep putting off making a decision to go because I don’t want to leave my son.  I can’t take him with me because it would be too much to handle a toddler alone and have quality time with my mom.  Also, tickets are expensive and we just don’t have the extra cash.  Read this post, I Just Got to Town, take a Number, to catch yourself up to speed about almost losing her last May (if you are new to this blog).

Photo is not credited, but it appears on the website which is hot linked. This is my new ethical decision -- to credit the photographer and ask permission to post. This is a public website so I don't have to ask.

Ideally, I’d love to go at the end of July and catch the last couple of days of Cheyenne Frontier Days Rodeo, and then travel up to Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons, and then head back down to Cheyenne for my 20th high school reunion in the beginning of August.  Oh yeah – and a magazine would hire me because they are reading my blog right now, or an editor is, and they would hire me to write about Wyoming, Yellowstone, Cheyenne Frontier Days, and my mother, or at least one of those.  (If you are a magazine editor, I am a really good writer and photographer…just sayin’!)

If wishes were kisses, I’d be smothered with lipstick!

Talenthouse – Just LeDoux It!

This is my next submission for a creative invite: Chris LeDoux.  Voting starts April 16.  The winner gets to collaborate with Robert Caplin and Viewbug if they win.  I don’t expect to win.  But I do expect to get all the Chris LeDoux fans to celebrate with me as I bombard social media channels with this photo of him.  I took it in 2003, I think.  He is just a beautiful man.   Chris was one of those human beings that made people feel good.  I didn’t even know him, but I did meet him and I shook his hand.  I was even lucky enough to ask him, “What are your thoughts on being at The Daddy (as in Cheyenne Frontier Days — the largest outdoor rodeo and Western celebration in America).  He smiled right at me, all beautiful-like, and hummed out, “Just happy to be here.”

Here is the link to the photo, Chris LeDoux. You can click on the link and become a supporter today.  By becoming a supporter, you will be sent an email from Talenthouse when voting opens, reminding you to vote.  Voting starts April 16 – so spread the word to all the country crooner fans you know and especially to Chris LeDoux fans.  Did you know that Chris and I went to the same high school in Cheyenne?  Go Cheyenne Central Indians!

One Ride is a musical celebrating Chris’ music and tells the story of the rodeo cowboy.  Check out the website, One Ride, to find more info.  You can also find information about the musical, One Ride, at the Chris LeDoux offical website and you can listen to lots of his beautiful country songs.  When you click on the website, you will be greeted by one of my favorite songs, “Old Paint.”  Click here to read the lyrics to that song. Chris was a true cowboy bard and poet.

Brain Tumor Thursday

This Thursday I have the pleasure of sharing the profile of an amazing woman.  She calls herself @thelizarmy on Twitter.  She has a blog here: http://thelizarmy.com/.  She is also on the medical advisory board for the National Brain Tumor Society.  Check her out.  She is a rock star and a special human being.  I am really enjoying the connections with the brain tumor community I have made.  My mother has brain tumors.  Read this post to find out more about that and  Brain Tumor Thursday.  You can also read the last two posts here: Tom McLain and Stephanie’s I Am Stronger Now…  If you get freaked out about medical stuff and the mention of brain surgery makes you squeamish, you might want to steer clear on Thursdays.  I encourage you to read the profiles because they are inspiring.  People rock. Period.

National Poetry Month

April is National Poetry Month.  I have been posting poems on my blog.  My favorite poem is called, Separation Anxiety.  

Thanks for tuning in for the Monday Museletter.

Hope. Wish. Dream. Be.

~ memomuse

16 thoughts on “Monday Museletter April 9

  1. Even though people can get photographs for ‘free’ on the internet they are nothing like the quality you see froma purchased work, framed, on your wall. I admire photographers so much and I really am sorry this happened to you. The least they could have done is note where they got the picture. 😦

    Like

    • I wish I could comment better but I am typing laying down next to my bed hog toddler. I will write you later bc you bring up such a good point. Sometimes people can’t even credit the photographer if they wanted bc the photo gets right clicked so often.

      Like

    • Thank you for your support. I am working on putting together an artshow. For now, I have this wonderful community online that appreciates my memomuses and that makes all the difference. I am trying to find the comment you wrote about your car…I just loved that story.

      Like

      • I don’t remember where it was but it honestly was the best car I’ve ever had to this day. Even though it was a complete piece of junk I had some of the best times of my life in that car. I could fill a book with stories from that car. 🙂

        Like

    • I did and I loved it. Google has changed the game with information searches. I loved your story about your first car held together by duct tape. I appreciate your comments. I am not very good at commenting back right away. I do read them all. I will eventually comment back. I just have to wrangler my toddler most of the time.

      Like

  2. I am on pinterest! I’ll try to find you next time on. Its a fun site, but I do wonder how it doesn’t violate copyrights on images. I’ve had a few of my photographs lifted as well. I haven’t figured out how to do a watermark, yet, but I know its something I need to learn.

    p.s. I love Chris LeDoux – I have some of his CDs that he put out in the 90s. He’s fantastic!

    Like

  3. Hello dear person – I love your musings. And I love the KICK IN THE BUTT you just gave me regarding Watermarks. Oh, and I DID add share buttons on The Jaded Lens because you kicked me last week too (turns out the format I was using did not support the widgets I had added). All fixed now, and I think the theme looks better. Now I’m musing in your comments. I think I’ll check out my new Lightroom software for Watermarking info. By the way, what searches did you do to find your stolen photos?

    Like

    • Yeah a kick in the butt sometimes happens to us all and we are flat on the ground with our face in the mud! I am going to write a post about my experience with some links to articles. Hopefully I can find some right brained directions for us right brained brainiacs! I adore your photos. The one thing that got me was that I initially uploaded the images and provided the URL link in WordPress which makes a right click copy really easy. I don’t know how yet, but you are not supposed to upload high resolution images. I have some homework to do myself, but baby steps. I am happy about resolving two of the website issues, I still am waiting for the Russian mail order bride website to take them down. Two out of three ain’t bad though. Live and learn. Keep creating Britton — it is what fuels the writing/creating spirit. Hope. Wish. Dream. Be.

      Like

  4. This was an quite informative, I never know what photos I’m allowed to use on the internet. What I do wonder about is if it’s ok to use them and give credit to the photographer? A post solely about this subject would be awesome! hint…

    Like

    • Thank you TBRanch. I am working on a post about it. Probably post it Friday. I have a lot of writing deadlines up right now so maybe early next week. Focus focus. I did get the matter resolved with one website. They were very helpful, but my tenacity and persistence and it helped I am an Aries and we are in Aries (rams horns). I can see where it is very confusing with Pinterest and Facebook shares. I don’t think people do it knowingly most of the time. Watermarks are a pain in the rear to put on. I am very impatient myself and I like to post photos bc I love to share. But a little patience and knowledge goes a long way. I think my left brain had a victory today — but I am starting to recognize the “whole brain.” Thank you for your comments. Always good to hear from you. How is the ranch these days? My toddler has me pretty busy and frazzled most of the time, so I haven’t been to visit any of my favorite blogs 😦 have a great weekend.

      Like

  5. So much in one fell swoop here . . . I was especially moved by your post re: your thoughts on your mother. My mother (gone for many years now) is on my mind so much these days. A photo of her as a young woman appears on my new e-book, timed to Mother’s Day. You’ll be among the first to hear all about it.

    Like

    • Thank you for your lovely thoughts and I look forward to reading you ebook. I am partial to books I can hold in my hands, but I will make an exception for your lovely cyber friend! Mothers and daughters – such a braided rope, thick with texture and so many strings intertwined. Love.

      Like

  6. Pingback: Blogging Award Nominations and Nominees « A Word or More

Let me know you were here - share your muse

