Beautiful Buzzing Bees


"Bee on a Tree" seems like something Dr. Seuss would say.
(c) Megan Oteri

Your Beauty is like the Bee — Buzzing into Spring

I will repeat this (I am talking to you).  Your beauty is like the bee, buzzing into spring.

I pass this tree everyday as I turn right on this street almost everyday.   I only notice it during this brief period in March.  It blossoms into a magical white puffy explosion of color.  I think it is a Bradford Pear.  I am not sure.  Up close when you look at it, you will notice swarms of bees buzzing around it, sucking out pollen and nectar.  Does it have nectar? I don’t know.  This isn’t a scientific post of pollination and tree species names (although what would it hurt to really find out what the name of the tree is? If you know, post in comments please).

quite cheerful

Photo by Megan Oteri (c) - "White Burst"

I think spring is a magical time.  People become quite cheerful and hopeful.  I live in North Carolina so there isn’t a drastic temperature change, but it certainly warms up.  People start tilling their land, turning over soil that has sat for the long winter.  The earthworms squiggle and wiggle in while little boys and girls giggle with them in their hands.  Spring means renewal.  Spring means hope.  Spring means science.

I ignore this tree all year-long, not even giving it a second glance.  I just couldn’t resist stopping to take a picture.  So I made a quick left, where I usually continue straight and pulled into the church parking lot it stands on.  My son, was happy eating his oatmeal raisin cookies (I did not bake) and I leapt at the opportunity to snap some quick photos.  My feet literally skipped over.  I’m not usually the Mary Poppins type, although I have been known to make squealy sounds of delight when I am happy.  My husband calls it “Dolphin Girl” sounds.

Photo by Megan Oteri (c) - All Rights Reserved - "Dolphin Blue"

So there I am skipping over to the tree — its sudden and immediate beauty moved me.  I am not being over dramatic because the rest of the day I felt sorry for myself that I haven’t finished my memoir and that I don’t have the time to write and that I wasn’t invited to a birthday party of a kid of a mom I know, you name it, I was feeling it.  But this moment, everything stopped and I was in a prism of beauty.  I was in it to win it.  I was taking pictures from all kinds of angles and really seeing the beauty of nature at work, as hundreds of bees buzzed all over the place.  I tried to get a close up of a bumble bee, but wasn’t able to really capture it.  But that goes without saying, nature is discreet like that.

Bzzz...bees are magic! (c) Megan Oteri

I read this blog post about bees from The Jaded Lens and it really resonated with me.  I am going to try to keep my opinion about the decline of the honey bee population out of this post, but you probably know where I stand. Screw it, I will tell you.  I stand tall with Mother Nature.  I think we need to make decisions for the Earth.  We are her tribe.  She doesn’t work for us; we work for her. Damn it!  I know it isn’t that simple, but can we get to a more simple place.  Without the bees, we are goners.  I am not going to go all end of the world on your ass, but I just want to speak up and shout about how beautiful nature is.  The way nature is, not how we want nature to be. There are things we can do now to help the honey bees.  Click on this link to find out about something you can do that is simple.

(c) Megan Oteri ~ "B"
Be active for bees
be bold, be brave, be beautiful

Here are some links to websites and articles about honey bees (please add a link in the comments and I will add):

I will finish my post with some photos from my moment with the bees in the trees.  Sometimes it’s the angle we choose to look at something that makes the difference.

 (c) Megan Oteri 

The Elegance of Spring

I don’t have worthy words to describe my feelings for nature.  But I will tell you this: it moves me and it is where I am closest to my higher power.  I want my son, who is almost two years old, to leap from his car when he is old enough to drive (preferably while driving the speed limit, sober, not texting, and driving safely with his hands on the steering wheel at ten and two) to celebrate spring and nature the same way I did yesterday — in total awe and wonder.

 

(C) Megan Oteri - My Boy Wonder eating his oatmeal raisin cookies

I only have this simple statement to describe what I feel about nature and her beauty: The elegance of spring

(c) Megan Oteri "Star Flower"

(c) Megan Oteri "White Blue"

(c) Megan Oteri "Blue Sky Bold"

This is a video from PBS about the honey bees.

“In the winter of 2006, a strange phenomenon fell upon honeybee hives across the country. Without a trace, millions of bees vanished from their hives, leaving billions of dollars of crops at risk and potentially threatening our food supply. The epidemic set researchers scrambling to discover why honeybees were dying in record numbers — and to stop the epidemic in its tracks before it spread further. Buy the DVD. This film premiered October 28, 2007.” – PBS Video

Go outside and find one thing today that moves you, makes you notice and come back and write a comment here or just enjoy the beauty.  Hope. Wish. Dream. Bee!

Don’t forget to take the National Day of Unplugging pledge today and unplug March 23 (at sundown) to March 24 (sundown).  Here is a great post by genius film maker, Tiffany Shlain in the Huffington Post.

6 thoughts on “Beautiful Buzzing Bees

  1. Thanks for the shout out-the fact that you were inspired by my bee post brings me great joy and a massive smile. This tree IS SPECTACULAR! And now I am inspired to stop neglecting my yard and garden. So many creatures want to come enjoy it. Do you think that if I plant lettuce for the snails, they will ignore the other things?? 🙂

    Like

  2. What a beautiful tree! I love the flowers, the bees and the flaring shape (in ‘White Burst’). Be brave, be bold, be beautiful, indeed. Thanks for sharing these pictures and links. They’ve slowed, calmed and nourished my day much.

    Like

  3. Beautiful blossom Meg. Isn’t spring wonderful. The bees are out in force here too and yesterday at a local market I bought a jar of sweet chestnut flower honey. Not this year’s as the chestnut won’t be in flower for a while. It is the most wonderful flavour – along with acacia which is completely different.
    Superb blog you have here Meg!

    Like

Let me know you were here - share your muse

