Separation Anxiety


I am posting this poem because I have not put any of the silverware away.  All that was left in the silverware drawer was one pink baby spoon.  I really don’t like putting it away.  In fact, all the clean silverware is still in the dish washer.  What is your domestic torture chore?

 

“Separation Anxiety”

I don’t like to sort silverware.

period.

there you have it – my domestic torture chore

maybe it’s because the classification

doesn’t match my moods or sequence

We separate into categories

lesbians, doctors, Asians

the homeless, the humble, the humane

categories of separation:

of color

of race

of sexual preference

of tax bracket brooch

it really doesn’t matter to me

I accept all

but perhaps not as much as I’d like to think

do the knives always belong with the knives

does the silver spoon

always have to fit tight with its brother

or the fork with its corky spikes

the other utensils get tossed in with the rest

yet, we always, separate the knives from the forks

as if, the garlic press can tolerate the ladle! 

perhaps an analogy for our domestic tolerance

I break down periodically

segregating the forks, spoons, and knives

into their happy little collated coves

usually thinking they belong that way

yet, I never have liked it

and, probably never will

memomuse

Copyright 2009

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , by memomuse. Bookmark the permalink.

About memomuse

I am an arts educator, writer, poet, photographer, and mama. United Arts Council Artist in the Schools and Writer-in-Residence -- I am available to conduct workshops and residencies: Memoir, Writing, Poetry, Spoken Word, Poetry Slams. Contact me for more information. Also available for freelance writing and photography. I am also working on a historic food memoir: http://evanstoncommmunitykitchen.wordpress.com

14 thoughts on “Separation Anxiety

  1. D,
    Thanks for stopping by and of course the lovely compliment. I sometimes find myself doing the dishes by hand, as opposed to the dishwasher. This routine mends my mind. I wanted to comment on your blog but could not find a comment place. I have a friend who sends me a picture of a banana everyday. The photo of the banana in the frying pan made me think of that. I enjoyed looking at your blog. I’ll be back of course! Something new please…
    Cheers!
    memomuse

    Like

  2. Okay, I LOVE sorting. That is why I am a librarian/knowledge manager! As for larger non-sliverware utensils, I have a metal drawer and a plastic drawer and I often fret over the hybrid plastic handle/metal work surface and metal handle/plastic work surface items. Which drawer? I have decided that the work surface should be the deciding factor (metal cheese slicer with plastic handle -> plastic drawer, etc.) Of course, this is coming from a woman who has actual Library of Congress classifications on spine labels on the books in her home bookcase, so take it as you wish.

    Like

    • Dawn,
      It sounds like you have a great system. I wish I loved sorting more. I just throw my hands up and embrace clutter as a decorative motif of my office space. I do have to admit that when I do get in the mood to put the silverware away, it gives me a sense of order. I wish you could come organize my office space – there is stuff everywhere. And I just don’t know where to put it so I leave it!
      I get caught up in the whole system thing thinking I need to have a system to organize it. I just think some people are good at organizing and some are not. Thanks for coming by my blog and commenting.

      Like

    • PPPC (Promising Poets’ Poetry Cafe)
      Thanks for the kudos. I appreciate your comment. Dishware is a strange thing. Thanks for stopping by. I’m looking forward to visiting your blog and enjoying some poetry at the cafe!

      Like

  3. Use plastic utensils and pitch ’em when you’re done… just kidding:)
    I don’t actually have many domestic tortures because I have a teenage daughter 🙂 And a husband who vacuums. Advice: you just have to know how to train ‘em.
    But I admit that washing dishes is my favorite chore because I enjoy the sensation of hot, sudsy water on my hands. Great post.

    ~ Love and blessings

    Like

  4. Excellent…Why can’t we all mix together and have a great time and be happy. It would make life much simpler and I could throw all my cutlery in one draw. Next to the one with the odd socks…:)

    Like

    • Pandamoniumcat,
      Ah yes, wouldn’t it make it so much easier if we could just throw everything in one drawer! Why do we have to sort so much. Thank you for stopping by – and commenting. I appreciate the feedback.

      Like

    • Sweepy Jean,
      Hi there. There is a relationship between everything. Often we don’t think about how so many things and people are connected. Thanks for stopping by the blog. I have to go now as my little muse is awake and ready to play. I have an eleven month old. Cheers.
      Peace & Poetry,
      memomuse

      Like

  5. how are you today?

    this is such a beauty in poetry, keep it up.

    Glad to discover your poetry talent,

    join poets rally.
    make poetic friends, get encouragements via awards.

    come on in, the collection is to be closed within 26 hours.

    cheers.

    Like

    • Jingle,
      Sorry I didn’t make it to the close. I have to comment back on here when I can (when my baby naps). I do love when the baby naps. So peaceful and calm. He is about to turn one in May. I will check out the poetry cafes that you mentioned. And thanks for the compliment. I have been writing more prose than poetry lately. Perhaps I will write a poem today. I am glad you enjoyed “Separation Anxiety.” It is one of my favorites. Peace & Poetry, memomuse

      Like

  6. Pingback: Monday Museletter April 9 « memomuse's Blog

Let me know you were here - share your muse

