Midnight Mama


I am a midnight mama.

I am free to be alone

My happy husband and happy baby are asleep

I am free to do laundry, alone

This quietude makes me giggle

It is our secret

the night and I share alone

We exchange glances, like lovers

in a dark cafe

The mood 

soft, light

I am free to brood if need be

All alone

The chamber where the family sleeps

are far in another field

I harvest the crops of myself

gathering them around like flowers

diamonds, unearthed from the dirt

and clay in my hands

this time worships me

showers me with soft petals

scents rising above me

musing with my mind

there are no distractions here

in this midnight mama museland

I strum the guitar

and play the songs I want to hear

Midnight mama

I like this song

memomuse is a poet who stays up to write after everyone goes to sleep.  She has to hustle right now to post this because the baby has woken and needs the boobie refrigerator.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by memomuse. Bookmark the permalink.

About memomuse

I am an arts educator, writer, poet, photographer, and mama. United Arts Council Artist in the Schools and Writer-in-Residence -- I am available to conduct workshops and residencies: Memoir, Writing, Poetry, Spoken Word, Poetry Slams. Contact me for more information. Also available for freelance writing and photography. I am also working on a historic food memoir: http://evanstoncommmunitykitchen.wordpress.com

One thought on “Midnight Mama

  1. Keep it up. You will no doubt comfort the hearts of many women who feel they are fighting the “long drunken forgetfulness of self” called motherhood.

    Balance is such a difficult thing to find with a little one.

    Like

Let me know you were here - share your muse

