Eat Fresh – Eat Local


Eat Fresh – Eat Local

I went to the local Farmer’s Market with a new mom friend today.  Plenty of personalities and stories accompanied my locally grown bought vegetables and fruits.  I bought blueberries, cucumbers, yellow zucchini, cantaloupe, sweet corn (1/2 dozen for $2.00 – can’t beat that), peaches, red potatoes, plump red vine tomatoes, and onions.

I mentioned to my friend that it would be neat to profile these farmers with photos and stories so local people would know who they in fact are buying their local produce from.  So here is just a little bit of what I would envision an article to look like.  Note: this is not in its professional completion – more of a sampling.  But seriously – don’t these faces and images beckon your curiosity?

Fresh Flowers – ahh the beauty of summer – ahh the beauty of local dirt and sunshine

Mr. Bottoms from Martha’s Vineyard Farm in Statonsburg, loading up his leftovers from Farmer’s Market

Colors of an Artist

These little fellas are just begging to go to a good home. Just be sure to give lots of love to them.

Shorty

My favorite part of the afternoon was chatting with “Shorty” who told me just a little pecan pie slice of his live.  Turns out he has been farming for a good part of his life, from 1930 – 1974.  Then he went into construction, building homes for a bit.  Now he just gardens an acre as a hobby on his family’s farm off Highway 301. I reckon there’s a lot more to ole’ Shorty’s life.  His eyes are the color of blue bonnet flowers sprinkled with Pacific blue ocean hues.

I am going back to the Farmers’ Market on Saturday.  They have it twice a week. On Wednesdays it is downtown next to the new Greenlight Building and on Saturday it is at the Wilson Fairgrounds.

Don’t those eyes tell a story?  Don’t you want to know the story of where your food comes from?

Fresh

These hands picked them vegetables.  I think that is pretty cool to know who dug in the good earth for your homegrown meal.

There’s a great book by one of my favorite authors, Barbara Kingsolver.  She explores and lives the theme of eating locally.  She and her family (husband and two daughters) moved from Arizona to a farm in Appalachian Virginia country and only ate what was grown locally.  The book reads easily and smoothly, just like licking homemade ice cream (which you can also get at the Wilson Farmer’s Market).  Barbara’s book is called Animal, Vegetable, Miracle : A Year of Food Life.

“My eye doctor told me I have the prettiest eyes she has ever seen.” I agree with her Shorty! They sure are eyes grown with goodness.

Now if you would like to pick some fresh scuppernong grapes and feel like getting out for a good ole’ country drive, head South on Highway 58 and turn right when you see a great big sign that says, “Martha’s Vineyard.” Mr. Bottoms will let ya pick all the grapes your belly will hold for just $1.00.  Of course you can pick some for the other bellies in your family too.

“You can pick all the grapes your belly’ll hold.”  Mr. Bottoms of Martha’s Vineyard (This is my favorite picture I took of the market today – it makes me smile)

2 thoughts on “Eat Fresh – Eat Local

Let me know you were here - share your muse

