Everyone’s asleep but me


I am up watching the last quarter of the NBA Championship game!  My little man is asleep and so is my big man.  I managed to get some chores done around the house. I did the dishes and washed the kitchen floor with the awesome Bissell hardwood floor and carpet cleaner my mother-in-law got me.  I am really lucky to have such a great mother-in-law.  I vacuumed the living room and washed a load of Ben’s clothes.

I can’t stop comparing my blogging to a friend of mine. She does such a great job on her blog.  But I haven’t really found my voice in this blogging thing.  I am stuck between documenting my little boy’s every move to writing about what I am going through as a new mom.  On her advice (the awesome blogger) she suggested I keep my blog as a whole part of me as a mom, artist, writer, teacher, etc.

In all honesty, I would rather just write essays and keep them in a file on my computer to be put into a book, but I love the feedback I get from blogging (yes – I love your comments you guys write).  I like the fact that I only have a small amount of readers and that whatever I end up posting not that many people will actually read so I can really write anything I want and not fear any judgement.  The thing is my writing (not my blogging writing) is very personal and I worry sometimes about being vulnerable.  But what writer isn’t vulnerable…

Damn Lakers are up now 68 to 64. Go Celtics!

Truth be told I wish I was more tech savvy and business savvy.  I have all kinds of great ideas, just don’t know how to get them off the ground or out of the garage or ignited.  I have the fire built so to speak – just need the light.

I have decided to take it easy on myself with my business and creative ideas as I wade into the waters of motherhood, well rather dive into motherhood.  I love being a mom.  It is something I have wanted for so long.  I posted my NPR “This I Believe” essay on the post before this.  It is called “This I Believe.”  It tells you how long my journey to motherhood was and how it felt to perhaps not be able to reach the dream of motherhood.

Anyway – back to the Lakers/Celtics game – 5 minutes left.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by memomuse. Bookmark the permalink.

About memomuse

I am an arts educator, writer, poet, photographer, and mama. United Arts Council Artist in the Schools and Writer-in-Residence -- I am available to conduct workshops and residencies: Memoir, Writing, Poetry, Spoken Word, Poetry Slams. Contact me for more information. Also available for freelance writing and photography. I am also working on a historic food memoir: http://evanstoncommmunitykitchen.wordpress.com

One thought on “Everyone’s asleep but me

  1. what a compliment! you’re doing so great. remember i’ve been sleeping through the night for a year now and you are just getting started!!! not to mention, my kid only eats 3 times a day, and has two long predictable naps every day. big difference, trust me. you’ll get there soon.

    (side note about the collages you asked about: i made them myself with photoshop because i wanted to share so many pics from that day that i couldn’t do them one by one, it would have been crazy).

    Like

Let me know you were here - share your muse

