My Baby Boy


My baby boy is almost 4 weeks old.  He is 25 days old!  He already is attached to my heart in a way I have never loved before.  The love is different than the love I have for my husband.  New and fresh this love binds me to him and also lifts me to a new and unfamiliar place.  Dare I say a place of insecurity at times, yes.  I have never doubted myself like the way I do as a new mom.  “Am I doing this right?” “Am I going to be a good mom?”  “Am I being a good mom?” “What will the world be like as I raise this child?”  It certainly will not be the childhood setting I had.  We could play in our neighborhood after dark and cut in and out of our neighbors backyards because we knew our neighbors.  We all played together and explored local forests and parks like pirates on the sea.  There was no fear of monsters and bad guys. I really was lucky as a kid to grow up in the time period I did.

I want my child to be able to ride his bicycle during the summer alone or with his friends and feel the summer air in his hair and watch fireflies light up the sky.  Unfortantly we no longer live in the 70’s or 80’s and we We don’t live in Wyoming.  I think in Wyoming there was a better chance of him being blown off his bicycle than being kidnapped by a stranger!  Wyoming  is where we moved from.  I miss not locking my door at night and being able to leave my keys in the cars without any worry of my car being stolen.  Not the case on the East Coast! We live in Eastern North Carolina now.

All I have is love for this little boy and when I watch him with his father I melt.

The little one is about to wake up and you know what that means – feeding time!  I am an on-call bosom of breast milk! ha ha

My life will never be the same and honestly I love it this way.  A new chamber in my heart has grown the last 9 months and now I can see, breath, smell, and feel the beating of this little wonderful creature I call son.

PS – I am trying to write something every day on my blog about my son and also keep writing about other things as I do call myself a writer and artist.  Right now I am all consumed in mommyhood!  Please share any feedback as it can be lonely in the house all day with a newborn.  I am getting used to this.  While I was pregnant with my son I was so busy – working full-time as a teacher, going to grad school at night (two graduate classes per semester), and being pregnant.  Now I am home for the summer, not working or going to school.

Today I am proud of myself for doing the dishes, cleaning the nursery, and getting the laundry picked up to be started! Baby steps with my baby Ben!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , by memomuse. Bookmark the permalink.

About memomuse

I am an arts educator, writer, poet, photographer, and mama. United Arts Council Artist in the Schools and Writer-in-Residence -- I am available to conduct workshops and residencies: Memoir, Writing, Poetry, Spoken Word, Poetry Slams. Contact me for more information. Also available for freelance writing and photography. I am also working on a historic food memoir: http://evanstoncommmunitykitchen.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “My Baby Boy

  1. Wonderful to share your full heart. I remember that feeling of aching heart expansion and all these same doubts.

    You have begun what one woman called “the long, slow, drunken forgetfulness of self” that is motherhood. I’m happy that you are wisely carving out a niche for yourself, your writing, and musing.

    Follow your motherwit and your heart and don’t despair, for there will be beauty enough in your little one’s world.

    We all, if we live long enough, see the end of the world as we knew it and yet, its beauty endures and can surely be found by all its children. And the amazing thing is that you will rediscover it too, through their eyes as if yours also are new.

    Blessings upon you and your rising son.

    Like

  2. You are such a beautiful writer. I am looking forward to reading more on your blog. I had tears in my eyes when I read your blog. Enjoy and savor this special time with Ben.

    Like

Let me know you were here - share your muse

